Howieson scoops Player of the Year award

Words: ACFC Media

Sunday 27 May 2018

Picture: Phototek

AUCKLAND, New Zealand - The Auckland City FC Annual Awards dinner took place at the Navy Blues Kiwitea Street clubrooms in Sandringham last night and here are your list of winners.

All Whites international midfielder Cam Howieson won both Player of the Year and the coveted Players' Player of the Year Award.

Emiliano Tade also won the Keryn Jordan Memorial Trophy for a record equalling third time after bagging 26 competitive goals during the season including 18 in the ISPS Handa Premiership and eight in the OFC Champions League.

The only other player to win the Keryn Jordan Memorial Trophy three times is former South African international Grant Young.

Tade is the fourth Auckland City FC player to win the award in consecutive seasons behind Young, Daniel Koprivcic and Manel Exposito.

The Sportsman of the Year trophy was won for the third time by the popular Takuya Iwata while outstanding goalkeeper Enaut Zubikarai picked up Supporters' Player of the Year.

Zubikarai becomes just the second Navy Blues goalkeeper to win the accolade with the first, Ross Nicholson, won 14 years ago.

The Young Player of the Year went to Callum McCowatt.

The club recognised the contribution of its support-base with Miro Erceg winning the Cameron Jones Memorial Award while Blair Shaw's outstanding contributions earned him the Club Member of the Year award.

The Junior Navy Blues Player of the Year award recipient was Justin Bailey, Most Improved went to Jack Duncan and Sportsman of the Year went to Dino Botica.

Justin Bailey's memorable evening was capped off with the Golden Boot award.

Auckland City FC also recognised the achievements of six players who passed milestones this season with Emiliano Tade going past the 150 match and 100 goal marks for the club.

Albert Riera (100 matches), Micah Lea'alafa, Fabrizio Tavano, Te Atawhai Hudson-Wihongi and Enaut Zubikarai (all 50 matches) were celebrated while Ryan De Vries was awarded after he reached the 50 goal mark. 

De Vries is fifth in the club's list of all-time top scorers behind Tade (107), Grant Young (66), the late Keryn Jordan (62) and Paul Urlovic (51). 

Summary of Winners

Auckland City FC Senior Awards:
Player of the Year - Cam Howieson
Players' Player of the Year - Cam Howieson
Keryn Jordan Memorial Award (Golden Boot) - Emiliano Tade
Supporters' Player of the Year - Enaut Zubikarai
Young Player of the Year - Callum McCowatt
Sportsman of the Year - Takuya Iwata

Auckland City FC Club Awards:
Cameron Jones Memorial Award for Supporter of the Year - Miro Erceg
Club Member of the Year - Blair Shaw

Auckland City FC Milestone Awards:

Club Appearances (matches/goals)
Emiliano Tade - 150 matches (162/107)
Albert Riera - 100 matches (112/2)
Fabrizio Tavano - 50 matches (68/8)
Micah Lea'alafa - 50 matches (58/23)
Te Atawhai Hudson-Wihongi - 50 matches (54/1)
Enaut Zubikarai - 50 matches (58/0)

Club Goals (matches/goals)
Emiliano Tade - 100 goals (162/107)
Ryan De Vries - 50 goals (111/50)

Auckland City FC Academy Awards:
Player of the Year - Justin Bailey
Golden Boot - Justin Bailey
Most Improved - Jack Duncan
Sportsman of the Year - Dino Botica

Related Articles

ISPS Handa Premiership

Sat 21 Dec 2019, KO: 4.00pm, Logan Park, Dunedin

Player Profiles
Position P W D L F A Pts
1 AC752018517
2 TW632114911
3 HB623115139
4 ES723211129
5 WU5221988
6 SU621314137
7 TU6213677
8 WP713314186
9 CU71339136
10 HW51046183

Full Ladder

Photo Gallery
Auckland City FC Social