Search Results

Rogerson equaliser confirms title, home playoff

Words: ACFC Media

Saturday 20 February 2021

Picture: Phototek

LOWER HUTT, Wellington - Auckland City FC secure their eighth ISPS Handa Premiership title after a nervy 1-1 draw with a spirited Wellington Phoenix in Lower Hutt today.

The Wee Nix delivered a top performance and stifled a much changed Auckland City FC side with Sam Brotherton, Kayne Vincent, Mario Bilen, Albert Riera, Mario Ilich and Conor Tracey coming into the line-up for Cam Brown, skipper Cam Howieson, Adam Mitchell, Mohamed Awad and Yousif Al-Kalisy.

Preparations for the match were also disrupted by the latest lockdown with the Navy Blues managing just two training sessions prior to the trip to Wellington.

On the line was a league title and a home playoff in early March for Jose Figueira's side that created a level of tension for the visitors with Team Wellington still in the hunt for both prizes if they could win their last two regular season games.

A Riley Bidois goal after 51 minutes amped up the pressure on the visitors following a dour first half but the match took an unexpected twist when Luis Toomey was sent after picking up a second yellow card with just 15 minutes to go and tension building.

The numerical advantage gave the Navy Blues more space to exploit as the Phoenix game management was put under the microscope with Logan Rogerson smashing home a quickfire equaliser four minutes later.

Rogerson nearly grabbed a last minute winner when he got in behind the Phoenix defence only for Alex Paulsen to make a top quality save and preserve a point for Paul Temple's side.

All eyes now turn to Kiwitea Street for next week's Super City derby clash, possibly the last time the two clubs will meet ever.

The match is on Sunday 27 February and kicks off at 3pm NZDT.


Match Result
ISPS Handa Premiership
Saturday 20 February, 2021
Wellington Phoenix 1 (Riley BIDOIS 51')
Auckland City FC 1 (Logan ROGERSON 79')
HT: 0-0.

AC: 18. Conor TRACEY (GK), 4. Mario BILEN, 6. Brian KALTACK, 8. Albert RIERA (c), 9. Kayne VINCENT (13. Dre VOLLENHOVEN 62'), 12. Sam BROTHERTON, 14. Jordan VALE, 16. Yousif AL-KALISY, 19. Logan ROGERSON (15. Aidan CAREY 79'), 21. Maro BONSU-MARO, 23. Alfie ROGERS.

SUBS NOT USED: 24. Cam BROWN (GK), 2. Mario ILICH, 3. Adam MITCHELL.



Saturday 20 February, 2021
Canterbury United 0-2 Team Wellington

Sunday 21 February, 2021
Waitakere United 2-0 Hawke's Bay United
Eastern Suburbs AFC 1-1 Hamilton Wanderers

Related Articles

National League Final

Sunday 4 December 2022, Wellington Olympic, Mount Smart Stadium

Player Profiles
Position P W D L F A Pts
1 AC861118919
2 WO861126719
3 BU8422171314
4 AU8422111114
5 MU8413161513
6 WP823312129
7 CT830516189
8 NC813412206
9 CU812512235
10 MR811610214

Full Ladder

Friends of Football
Photo Gallery
Auckland City FC Social