Junior Navy Blues in strong position

Words: ACFC Media

Monday 11 December 2017

Picture: Phototek

WELLINGTON, New Zealand - Auckland City FC's National Youth League title hopes are in a strong place after a frustrating 1-1 away draw to Team Wellington in the capital yesterday.

Canterbury United sit in a strong position after dumping Southern United 4-0 in Dunedin yesterday and face bottom placed Hawke's Bay United at English Park in their final home game on December 17.

Aaron McFarland's team face fourth placed Tasman United on December 16 in their final game at Kiwitea Street but any type of victory for the home side should be enough to confirm them as champions with the title decided on the head-to-head record tiebreaker between the two teams. 

That means if Auckland City FC and Canterbury United both win their forthcoming matches it will be the Junior Navy Blues who are crowned champions. 

Auckland City FC could remain unbeaten for the entire campaign if they draw with Tasman United but witness Canterbury leapfrog them to the championship with a win over Hawke's Bay United.

If that scenario unfolds, it will be only the second time in the history of the competition a team has not lost a game and failed to win the title itself. 

Ironically, Canterbury United achieved this in 2007 losing out to Auckland City FC by two points. Canterbury won four and drew three from seven matches while the Junior Navy Blues won five and drew two.


Match Result
National Youth League
Sunday 10 December 2017
Team Wellington 1
Auckland City FC 1

Other results
Southern United 0-4 Canterbury United
Eastern Suburbs AFC 3-2 Wellington Phoenix U-17
Hamilton Wanderers 4-4 Waitakere United
Hawke's Bay United 3-0 Tasman United

Final Round of matches

Saturday 16 December
Team Wellington v Southern United
Kick-off 12pm

Auckland City FC v Tasman United
Kick-off 2pm

Sunday 17 December
Canterbury United v Hawke's Bay United
Kick-off: 11am

Waitakere United v Eastern Suburbs AFC
Kick-off: 1pm

Wellington Phoenix U-17 v Hamilton Wanderers
Kick-off: 2pm

National Youth League - Honours Board
2017 - Hamilton Wanderers
2016 - Team Wellington
2015 - Nelson-Marlborough Falcons
2014 - Auckland City FC
2013 - Auckland City FC
2012 - Canterbury United
2011 - Waitakere United
2010 - Canterbury United
2009 - Auckland City FC
2008 - Waitakere United
2007 - Auckland City FC
2006 - Capital Football
2005 - Capital Football
2004 - North Harbour
2003 - Capital Football
2002 - Auckland Football



Related Articles


Saturday 20 April 2024, Kiwitea Street, 3pm

Player Profiles
Position P W D L F A Pts
1 AC550015315
2 WS44009312
3 BU43011059
4 BO4301869
5 MN42111357
6 AU4202756
7 ES4202876
8 TC41039113
9 MU41034163
10 WR50237142
11 HW40135121
12 EB40042100

Full Ladder

Friends of Football
Photo Gallery
Auckland City FC Social