Chatham Cup Focus: Miramar Rangers

Words: ACFC Media

Thursday 29 July 2021

AUCKLAND, New Zealand - Today we take a look at the trophy-laden achievements of Miramar Rangers as the Navy Blues look ahead to Saturday's Chatham Cup clash in the capital.

Founded in 1907, Miramar Rangers is one of the most successful in New Zealand having won the Chatham Cup four times and the National League title twice.

Over the last decade the club has played in the Central Premier League and have won this competition a record six times most recently in 2020.

Miramar Rangers first Chatham Cup triumph came in 1966 when they won seven consecutive ties before they downed Ponsonby 2-1 in the semi-final and then Western 1-0 in the final.

All Whites international goalkeeper Peter Whiting and brothers Les and Barry Taylor featured heavily in their run to the trophy.

Their next triumph came 26 years later with a 3-1 win over Waikato United in the final after defeating first Stop Out (3-1), Takaro (4-0), Western Suburbs (4-1) and Hutt Valley United (5-2). They brushed past North Shore United in the semi-final by 2-0 before knocking over United at the last hurdle.

Darren Fellowes had given United the lead but two goals from Billy Wright and one from Vaughan Coveny capped off a memorable day for Miramar Rangers with Neal Cave winning the Jack Batty Memorial Trophy.

There was a 12-year wait for Miramar Rangers to taste further Chatham Cup success. Miramar picked up two relatively easy early rounds wins over Marist Wellington (6-2) and Victoria University (5-1) before overcoming old rivals Napier City Rovers (3-1), who had beaten them in the semi finals in 2002, and locals Wellington Olympic (3-2).

Miramar Rangers proved too strong for Western in the last eight edging them 2-1 before overcoming a similarly obdurate Eastern Suburbs AFC 1-0 in the semi-final.

Tim Butterfield, the former Sheffield United midfielder, etched out his name as a club legend as he helped guide Miramar Rangers to a 1-0 victory in the final with Michele Zannoto scoring the winner as an extra-time golden goal.

Butterfield's efforts earned him the Jack Batty Memorial Trophy as the player who most influenced the outcome of the final.

Miramar Rangers wait for their fourth Cup victory lasted only six years with the Wellingtonians beating Bay Olympic in the final at QBE Stadium.

Their journey to the final saw them brush aside Naenae (9-0), Wairarapa United (3-2), Lower Hutt City (3-2) and Napier City Rovers (2-1) before they overcame local rivals Wellington United in the quarter finals (3-1).

Their semi-final victory over East Coast Bays was a dicey affair won by Rangers narrowly 2-1 to earn them a crack at another Auckland side in the final.

Miramar's grip on the game was almost immediate with Tim Schaeffers and Campbell Parkin handing them a 2-0 lead. Nathan Strom halved the deficit for Bay Olympic but with 15 minutes left Michael White slotted home to make it 3-2.

Phil Imray proved Rangers hero when he stopped a Strom penalty kick to keep Olympic's challenge at bay and earn himself the Jack Batty Memorial Trophy.

While Miramar Rangers have earned four Chatham Cup victories, the club has also experienced Chatham Cup heartbreak.

In 1982, Miramar Rangers were beaten 1-0 by Mount Wellington with former England international and Wimbledon striker John Fashanu in their ranks. Fashanu remains the only player to have appeared in both an FA Cup and Chatham Cup final.

Saturday marks the first occasion Miramar Rangers and Auckland City FC will have met in any competitive fixture in New Zealand.

For a full run down on the specifics of Miramar Rangers illustrious Chatham Cup history click here


Miramar Rangers Chatham Cup Glory

v. Western Suburbs won 3-0
v. Karori Swifts won 1-0
v. Northern won 2-0
v. Seatoun won 3-1
v. Moturoa won 3-0
v. Ponsonby won 2-1
v. Western won 1-0

v. Stop Out won 3-1
v. Takaro won 4-0
v. Western Suburbs won 4-1
v. Hutt Valley United won 5-2
v. North Shore United won 2-0
v. Waikato United won 3-1

v. Marist Wellington won 6-2
v. Victoria University won 5-0
v. Napier City Rovers won 3-1
v. Wellington Olympic won 3-2
v. Western won 2-1
v. Eastern Suburbs won 1-0
v. Waitakere City won 1-0

v. Naenae won 9-0
v. Wairarapa United won 3-2
v. Lower Hutt City won 3-2
v. Napier City Rovers won 2-1
v. Wellington United won 3-1
v. East Coast bays won 2-1
v. Bay Olympic won 3-1

Miramar Rangers - Honours Board
National League winners 2002, 2003 (2)
Chatham Cup winners 1966, 1992, 2004, 2010 (4)
Central Superclub Plate winners 1993
Central League Premier Division winners 1997, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2020
Central League Division 1 winners 1980
Central League Division 2 winners 1988
Capital Premier League winners 2004
Capital League Division 1 winners 2007

Related Articles


Saturday 20 April 2024, Kiwitea Street, 3pm

Player Profiles
Position P W D L F A Pts
1 AC550015315
2 WS44009312
3 BU43011059
4 BO4301869
5 MN42111357
6 AU4202756
7 ES4202876
8 TC41039113
9 MU41034163
10 WR50237142
11 HW40135121
12 EB40042100

Full Ladder

Friends of Football
Photo Gallery
Auckland City FC Social