Search Results

FIFA President congratulates Navy Blues

Words: ACFC Media

Thursday 2 April 2020

Picture: Phototek

AUCKLAND, New Zealand - FIFA President Gianni Infantino has sent his congratulations to Auckland City FC for being awarded the ISPS Handa Premiership title for 2019-20.

In a letter to New Zealand Football, Infantino said:

"While the world faces up to the unprecedented challenge of the COVID-19 pandemic, please allow me not to forget to congratulate Auckland City FC for having been declared 2019-20 champions of New Zealand, their second title in the last three seasons, following the early conclusion of the season after 18 match weeks.

"This title is, no doubt, the result of hard work, passion and commitment, and everyone at the club can surely can be proud of this important achievement despite the exceptional circumstances.

"I would be grateful if you could please extend my congratulations to everybody involved, whom I encourage to continue working with determination and motivation in the future."

Auckland City FC chairman, Ivan Vuksich, had earlier remarked this season's campaign had concluded in the strangest of circumstances.

"We've been awarded the ISPS Handa Premiership title but it doesn't feel like we've won it in some ways because there were at least four matches left before the end of the campaign and anything could've happened.

"Team Wellington weren't far behind and Waitakere United, Eastern Suburbs AFC, Tasman United, Hamilton Wanderers and Southern United were all chasing hard for a playoff spot or better.

"Nevertheless, we remain very proud of the way our players and coaching staff, led by Jose Figueira, went about their season with the utmost diligence," he said.

Auckland City FC have now won eight ISPS Handa Premiership national titles and 11 league titles since 2004-05.



FIFA Club World Cup Bronze Medal 2014 (1)
Nike Lunar New Year Cup 2017 (1)
OFC Champions League Winners 2006, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 & 2017 (9)
OFC Presidents Cup Winners 2014 (1)
ISPS Handa Premiership Winners 2004/05, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2008/09, 2013/14, 2014/15, 2017/18, 2019/20* (8)
ISPS Handa Premiership Runners-Up 2010/11, 2012/13, 2015/16 & 2016/17 (4)
ISPS Handa Premiership Premiers 2004/05, 2005/06, 2009/10, 2011/12, 2013/14, 2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17, 2017/18, 2018/19, 2019/20* (11)
NZF Charity Cup 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019 (6)
NZF Charity Cup Runners-Up 2012, 2014, 2017 (3)
NZF National Youth League Champions 2006/07, 2008/09, 2012/13, 2013/14, 2017/18, 2018/19 (6)
Steve Sumner Memorial Trophy Winners 2017 (1)

*New Zealand Football cancelled the 2019/20 season and awarded the ISPS Handa Premiership and ISPS Handa Premiership minor title to Auckland City FC after 16 rounds due to Covid-19.

**Oceania Football Confederation postponed the OFC Champions League until May 6, 2020, at the quarter-final stage due to Covid-19.

FIFA Club World Cup Appearances
Japan 2006, UAE 2009, Japan 2011, Japan 2012, Morocco 2013, Morocco 2014, Japan 2015, Japan 2016, UAE 2017 (9)

Team Awards
IFFHS Oceania Club of the Decade (2001 – 2010)
Sport Auckland Team of the Year 2006, 2010, 2011 & 2012


Related Articles


Saturday 20 April 2024, Kiwitea Street, 3pm

Player Profiles
Position P W D L F A Pts
1 AC550015315
2 WS44009312
3 BU43011059
4 BO4301869
5 MN42111357
6 AU4202756
7 ES4202876
8 TC41039113
9 MU41034163
10 WR50237142
11 HW40135121
12 EB40042100

Full Ladder

Friends of Football
Photo Gallery
Auckland City FC Social